Act 350

Poverty does not equal stupidity

Many things have shocked and surprised me this year. Just 15 days away from a year of debt defying acts, I am resolute in my conviction that money is not fair, nor it is always very smart. Look around, it’s not a meritocracy, it’s a gong show.

We’ve never had more wealth yet  personal debt is higher than ever.

Despite years of perfecting the so called just in time inventory model that sees kiwis from New Zealand, and grapes from Chile available year round at our local grocery stores, we still manage to send kids to school hungry.

Despite rock bottom interest rates (which the banks loath), we still see record bank profits (and I do mean record). The Royal Bank recent quarterly earning would have paid for all the damage done in the Alberta flood almost twice over.

Income inequality is getting worse. Why? Because the scales have tipped so far in favour of the rich, those of us who aren’t rich are, well, poor. There isn’t much middle ground left.

Consider this, every time you use your bargain basement credit card, you contribute to a system that sees premium credit card holders benefit from privileges you could only dream off; valet parking, room  upgrades, first class seats. You pay for that.

Consider this, every time you pay your medical service premiums in BC (the only province to still have such a system), you help bankroll one of the largest companies in the US (Hewlett Packard) whose Canadian subsidiary collects under the guise of BC Revenue Services.

Consider this, every time you shop at Walmart, you  support the largest private employer and one of the most profitable companies in the world. Yet most of their US employees live below the poverty line and are subsidized by State welfare systems. You help make that happen.

I bet you didn’t even know that. How could you? It’s so far buried in free market, invisible hand capitalist propaganda, you’d need a team of lawyers and accountants to really know which way is up. The only reason I know this is because I’ve spent way too much time staying up past my bed time writing about debt. But I did learn a thing or two along the way.

But my overriding sentiment this pre-Christmas week is that people treat you differently when you don’t have money. Like you’re stupid and you don’t know better. Poverty is a circumstance, not a state of mind. Big difference.

When I couldn’t afford a dental procedure, I was referred to a low income option. I don’t need special treatment. Dentist need to offer affordable care. Like saying I can’t afford a diamond so the government sets up a low income diamond purchasing program to protect the diamond merchants profit margins. Total BS.

When I found a mistake on my credit report, I was told that it my responsibility to have it fixed. Wrong. Not my mistake. Not my responsibility. But my loss of a stellar credit rating.

When I was charged mortgage insurance on a mortgage that no longer existed, I was told the staff was misinformed. Again, not my mistake. Not my responsibility. But my expense.

I might be poor but I’m not  stupid. And neither are you. If you have been treated unfairly, disrespected, dismissed or ignored, please stand up. Make a call, send an e-mail, write a letter, tweet, facebook. Demand that your concerns be addressed. Because when you do, you stand up for the rest of us. And there is safety in numbers. There are more of us than there are of them. And only the really stupid among us would ignore this.

There are some very wealthy people who are smart (and kind) enough to know this. And I bet it keeps them up at night. It’s a travesty. It’s our depression, our stagflation, our OPEC crisis, all rolled into one giant gong show. And we must find our way past it the smartest way we know how.

4 thoughts on “Act 350

  1. plus the latest spin … “where we have never been wealthier as a country but are informed that the economy will be shattered if we hike CPP premiums” – a paraphrased quote of Paul Wells

    • yup. because hungry kids don’t vote and rich old guys do. I couldn’t be more disappointed. And I’m one of the so-called business owners they are trying to “protect”. Let’s face it, they don’t really care about my costs, they care about their donors. Spin indeed!

  2. The propaganda machine that spins wealth as a virtue and poverty as a sin is well lubricated to the tune of about a quarter billion dollars a year. Yes, you read that right. Billionaires like the Koch brothers shovel money into think tanks like the Fraser Institute (which, incidentally is a registered charity) who act as their mouthpieces.

    Just think how much good that money would do if it were put to a use other than paying for a megaphone….

Leave a Reply

