Act 341

Learn from your own mistakes

I’ve written about learning from the mistakes of others but haven’t reallly addressed learning from my own mistakes.

I made a minor one today. Tried to make a curry soup with some roasted peppers. The peppers were burnt, the soup was terrible unless you like soup that tastes likes smalls shreds of burnt rubber that is. Yuck. It’s down the drain for that effort.

I’ve learned from other mistakes too. I should not have trusted that my credit union’s advice was best for me. It wasn’t. I should not have thought that I needed mortgage insurance when I also had life insurance. I didn’t. I should not have assumed my credit report was accurate. It wasn’t.

I should not have assumed that building a successful-ish business over 15 years meant I would be bankable when I needed a business loan. It isn’t.

And I’m still learning. That’s the joy I’ve found in this blog. I can learn. I can improve. I can make it better. It’s working. Slowly. But it’s working.

So make mistakes. It’s okay as long as you learn from them. It really is.

One thought on “Act 341

  1. Good one today!  The only people who don’t make mistakes are people who don’t do anything!!!  And, I have found that some mistakes were so much fun, I did them again!!!   Penny Coon  

Leave a Reply

