Act 322

Your pay cheque is not the value of your worth

I thought it important to pause to point this out. If I haven’t said it yet, it’s an oversight on my part.

Some of the most important jobs are done by some of the people with the smallest pay cheques–the child care providers, the assisted seniors living attendants, the waitresses, the chamber maids–the world of the wealthy cannot operate without you. That you are paid the least is yet another sign of our economy’s disequilibrium but, in no way, a sign of how much your work matters. I can live a day without a stock broker, a banker or an insurance sales person. I cannot live without a gas station attendant or a grocery store clerk and I’m sorry the world isn’t more cognizant of this. And don’t get me started on the most important job of all, the stay-at-home parent, I beg of you.

As for me, I know I’m good at what I do. Call it confidence or experience or even self-delusion. What I’m not always good at is making sure my expenses are lesser than my revenue. But then, my government isn’t very good at that either, truth be told.

But that’s only one part of my job and one that I can’t always control. My work makes a difference in the lives of others. That my pay cheque doesn’t always compare is not the measure of my real worth. Please never measure yourself by the numbers on your pay cheque. Especially if yours happens to be quite impressive. That will get us into more trouble than we’re already in.

Leave a Reply

