Act 298

Veg out

If you’re like me, you make a few trips to the grocery store each week and you start to notice patterns.

I notice that mid week, veg that’s a bit past its prime is bundled and sold for cheap cheap cheap. Like 6 peppers for 99 cents or spinach a few days from its best before date. Or mushrooms that aren’t pristine white anymore. I scoop them up and use them in sauces and stews. Great way to sneak in the veg and save a ton of money.

As it is, my veg savings and a morning of cooking have grossed me enough lunch for the week and enough spaghetti sauce for two meals. But don’t tell my boys there’s spinach hiding in there :-).

Leave a Reply

