Act 297

Bring your kitchen to work

Sort of. At my office, I have a small fridge, a toaster, a kettle, a coffee grinder, a french press, some cutlery and some dishes.

Guess how much I spent on lunch this week (yes, week)? About seven bucks. Monday morning I picked up some day old bagels for 99 cents (they restock Monday morning so it’s 99 cent bread heaven at the local grocery store, if you get in early). Then I picked up some bologna. I already had some christmas oranges from the week before as well as some bulk chocolate (hard to get through a day without it). So, every day, I had a toasted bologna sandwich with an orange and a bit of chocolate.

I also bring milk from home in a clean ketchup bottle, and make fresh coffee.

I eat well. Probably better than when lunch was a visit to a local coffee or sushi shop (minus the bologna – but hey, it’s a nostalgic childhood thing so go with it).

I have a jar of mayo, mustard as well as some peanut butter. So if you’re nearby and want to catch up over lunch, I’ll make you a feast and it won’t cost a fortune.

Bon appetit!

Leave a Reply

