Act 280

Slay one dragon at a time

I might have taken on too much in one day. As I discovered yesterday, my credit score was damaged by a clerical error made at the local branch of the Bank of Montreal. So I printed it, brought in my paper work and closed my account.

It was an uncomfortable situation to say the least. Customer service reps are not trained for this kind of high level frustration with suggestions that I should phone equifax and mastercard to straighten it out. Straighten out their mistake that’s cost me immensely over the last 18 months? I don’t think so. Their fall back position? I needn’t be rude, I only brought this concern to them today and they are trying to help. Trying to help? You’ll forgive me if my confidence is not high. They couldn’t even get my address right, which led to the problem in the first place. If my indignation is set to 11, you’ll have to forgive me. And being firm is not being rude. They should know the difference.

Every dispute with a bank reminds me that bankers are not used to being spoken to harshly. As if their position is above it. And we enable that. But their duty of care towards us as consumers is not being met. Not by a long shot.

In addition to this, I attempted to resolve two other issues related to money. I’m tired. Really tired. I must remind myself to slay one dragon at a time. And least I’ll have the fortitude left at the end of the day to enjoy the accomplishment while still managing to get some real work done. As for today, very little was resolved and the drama continues tomorrow. Best I get a good night’s sleep.

2 thoughts on “Act 280

  1. My friend is being firm with her insurance provider, they want to increase her premium because CSRD says the hydrant 100 meters away does not have enough volume and my friends house is across the road from Shuswap Lake, banks and insurance companies are more interested in shareholder payments than client service. We need some smaller, community based banks and insurance companies. Way to fight Louise. Sent from my BlackBerry 10 smartphone on the Bell network. From: 365 Debt Defying ActsSent: Tuesday, October 8, 2013 6:56 PMTo: sold@sonjavw.caReply To: 365 Debt Defying ActsSubject: [New post] Act 280

    a:hover { color: red; } a { text-decoration: none; color: #0088cc; } a.primaryactionlink:link, a.primaryactionlink:visited { background-color: #2585B2; color: #fff; } a.primaryactionlink:hover, a.primaryactionlink:active { background-color: #11729E !important; color: #fff !important; }

    /* @media only screen and (max-device-width: 480px) { .post { min-width: 700px !important; } } */ WordPress.com

    louisewallace posted: “Slay one dragon at a time

    I might have taken on too much in one day. As I discovered yesterday, my credit score was damaged by a clerical error made at the local branch of the Bank of Montreal. So I printed it, brought in my paper work and closed my ac”

    • Hi Sonja,

      I too am told that my house insurance premiums will go up. I have not been given a reason. I understand you can increase your deductible or decrease the content insurance. It seems they will find any reason they can justify. She can also be firm by asking for a letter from the CSRD that their own insurance, which covers their fire services, can meet the needs of the community. To use the pun, fight fire with fire. It’s a constant challenge to have to fight. But we have to. There is no other mechanism to protect ourselves against large corporation unless we force them to write each other letters. If the CSRD can get insurance for its fire department, then surely, the insurance company will need to address the issue. I say pit them against each other and let them sort it out.

Leave a Reply

