Act 266

Be productive in the produce department

I always thought that bulk purchases would be cheaper than single units in the produce department. Turns out, I was wrong.

When you’re shopping for produce, be productive and do the math. I managed to save a few bucks by reading the prices despite the chaos that is created by pricing some things in pounds and some things in kilos. Do you think they do that on purpose?

I’m pleased to see that Christmas oranges have made their way back to the grocery store. So pleased in fact, I considered buying a great big box in an effort to get a good deal. $5.99 for 5 lbs. Only to discover that I could buy them as singles for .99/lb. Same for carrots. I was committed to a 5lb bag for $4.99 when I discovered I could buy them for .89 a pound as singles. I saved a few bucks by doing the math. Who says math’s not useful outside of school. It’s plenty useful. So use it. Especially in the produce department.

Leave a Reply

