Act 135

Buy the same dollar amount of gas on a weekly basis

With the May long weekend begins the summer season. If you live in a community on the Trans Canada Highway, perhaps you too are accustomed to the 10 to 12 cent increase in fuel/litre preceding a few well deserved days off.

To protect your budget against the swing in fuel prices, consider filling up at the same time every week for the same dollar amount. You can’t control the price of gas, you can control how much driving you do.

I started doing this to help manage my cash flow and kept doing it because it’s decreased my overall fuel expense and it makes me more mindful of how much driving I do.

And now, with my handy dandy office bike (see Act 131), I’ll  run errands in a fuel free way during office hours which will undoubtedly further my cause and up my intake of exercise to boot.

Leave a Reply

