Act 56

Go Public.

I started this blog because I wasn’t doing enough to defy my debt. I kept thinking it was a later problem when it’s a now problem.

People who are in debt are rarely part of the conversation about debt. I want to change that.

By building a daily blog post into my routine, I force myself to make conscious and conscientious decisions about my debt every day.

I didn’t go public to solve the problem. I went public to have a record of how to solve the problem. Debt is the number one concern of Canadians. So I figured I would find at least a kindred spirit or two in my pursuit. And I’m so relieved to report that I have and grateful for the kind words of support. Your stories are important. We need to talk about it. We need to fix it. We need to commit our debt to the past.

The story of my blog got picked up by Ellen Roseman, the personal finance columnist for the Toronto Star.

Debt is a product that is packaged, priced, promoted and sold. It’s no wonder the banks are making record profits. I bought in and I’ve been paying for it ever since. It’s time to change that one debt defying act at a time.

The story here:
http://www.thestar.com/business/personal_finance/spending_saving/2013/02/24/entrepreneur_plans_to_reduce_debt_by_going_public.html

Debt Defying Acts – Commit yours today. And share if you want – I’ll repost your ideas.

2 thoughts on “Act 56

  1. I like the new wave of consciousness that is sweeping the nation from lowering debt to having none at all to even pursuing alternate ways of retiring early.

    I was once debt free and plan to be there again. Nothing relieves stress like being debt free/possession free.

    For twenty years, I was like all of you out there… wanting the newest car, latest gadget and trying to keep up with what society said I needed to have in order to be happy. After all that time, I realized that owning a nice, new shiny car did nothing but stress me out. Worrying about payments, whether it got stolen or scratched, was more stressful than the joy of driving it. Oh, and don’t forget the tickets for speeding. So now, I have totally changed my mindset. I base my purchase for something solely on use and functionality. The item purchased has to do one function and do it well, for years….and if it doesn’t cost me anything over the next decade….even better.

    I search for ideas from others to help me become debt free. I question and analyze every purchase before I make it. I repair rather than replace.

    So what in life truly matters. Not the size of your tv or how many channels you get. Some say LOVE. Some say HEALTH. One thing ultimately matters. TIME. Time is the only commodity we both cherish and waste at the same time. It affects both love, health and the life you chose to live.

    Drmchsr66

Leave a Reply

