Act 37

Compartmentalize.

I don’t mean the psychological coping mechanism so much as the act of putting different tasks in compartments. I am easily distracted – did you see that shiny thing by the way – see what I mean?

I am only capable of making so many decisions in one day. So I try to streamline as much as possible, keep to a routine and making daily decisions predictable. When I make lunch. I focus on lunch. When I read the paper. I read the paper. When I’m working on a creative brief, I work on the brief. Most tasks are about 15 to 20 minutes long before I get – ooh shiny thing again – distracted.

We are socialized to multi task – but we waste important decision making power by deciding what and when to multi task. For me, the best way to stay on track is to focus on one thing at a time, even if it’s for a short period of time. This way I can spend less time on what’s on the to do list and more time ticking off the items instead.

There, tick that – Debt Defying Act 37 now off the list. Next item – shiny things.

Leave a Reply

